Are you Beautiful or Pretty?

When I was in 9th standard my teacher asked the class what is the difference between beautiful and pretty?

And listening to these words filled my mind with supermodels, actresses and people on the front page of magazines. Just when I was admiring how amazing Cameron Diaz looked on the front page of the cosmopolitan magazine, she asked the question again. And this time I tried to focus but I couldn’t figure out the difference.

The whole class was quite, some knew the answer but couldn’t put it in words, some were just confused and some thought that we were going to study synonyms that day.

After a long pause, she said that she never expected an answer from us and it is okay that we don’t know. And then she explained the difference.

Beautiful is a person who feels good, a person who is content while pretty is a vanity word. Pretty means looking good and just looking good.

I never knew that words hold so much power and even synonyms are so significantly different. From that day on I wanted to be a beautiful person and I still want to.

But as I grew up I realised that even though beautiful is a state that we should aspire to be in but we run after pretty.

 

This world is all about looking, not feeling.

If you look good you must feel good right!?

But what if we don’t?

 

People say we are not allowed to be impaired if we don’t have a terminal disease or wounds to show.

But we are hurt and we are in pain and don’t know how to explain.

 

Dressing up, putting on makeup, wearing high heels are the ultimate signs of being happy or so I’ve heard.

But I’ve seen people laughing hard while crying inside.

I’ve seen people dressed up from tip to toe while feeling hollow inside.

I’ve seen people just surviving, passing each day by.

 

If someone looks good it doesn’t mean they feel good.

So maybe once in while ask, “How are you feeling” instead of saying “You look good.”

One thought on “Are you Beautiful or Pretty?

  1. being able to understand people, rather just being judgemental; writing this post- shows that you have become what you have wanted to be- a beautiful person inside-out 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

